Distracted driving awareness month can be over. In the Lifesavers Conference on Highway Safety held this year in Nashville, Tenn., officers spoke about the different ways they are making an effort to ticket texting offenders although enforcement of the laws has become a priority for police officers all over the country.
When distracted driving moved to the forefront as one of the most critical driver safety issues some time ago, there was concern over the way to enforce all of the new laws that were striking the books. Many drivers just kept texting, thinking that the laws were not enforced. But with motivation and experience, police are finding creative ways to make certain drivers know they mean business.
Here are several ways you may get caught should you drive distracted.
Photo: Carlos Fernandez / NHTSA
The Tennessee Highway Patrol is using a tractor-trailer to have a bird’s eye view into cars trying to find texters as well as other offenders. The truck is just not unmarked, but they found that distracted drivers often do not spot the 18-wheeler hovering beside them.
Police in Danbury, Conn., among other cities, are searching for higher vantage points to look down on drivers to discover inside the cabin at what they are doing making use of their phones.
States includingConnecticut and California, and New York ban the use of mobile devices even when you are stopped in a traffic light. Police can certainly ticket those drivers just by patrolling streets on foot.
74 percent of tickets given out during the distracted driving police force period were from unmarked vehicles, so just because you don’t notice a police officer doesn’t mean there isn’t one nearby in Massachusetts.
There is no tolerance if you obtain a distracted driving ticket in most states. If you contest and check out court, officers are working to be certain they have enough details within the report to actually will lose.
The government and police realize the only way to end this epidemic is to crack down hard and their new national enforcement campaign “U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” is an effort to do that. Fines in some states are approximately $150. If you get caught more than once, new York, for example, adds five points on your license on top of the stiff fine, which means you can easily lose your right to drive.
Simple answer: Hang up and drive. If you must text, pull over to a good location and possess at it.